Home Page

     In 1856, Everett Township was formed by taking the west half of Big Prairie Township, making a total of seven townships in Newaygo County.
There was quite a lot of disagreement in choosing its name. The name on the petition presented to the Board was Douglass, but that name was defeated. Everett Utley also was suggested, but defeated. A "compromise" was reached, with Everett being selected. Its first three inspectors were Alden Angevine, Everett Douglass and Emphraim Utley.
The first election was held at the schoolhouse in Big Prairie, presided over by the first three inspectors.
   By 1860, Everett Township had taken over most of Brooks Township leaving Brooks Township only a small area between Croton and Fremont Townships.

Everett Township is served for fire protection by the White Cloud Area Fire Board. With protection for the Townships of Everett, Lincoln, Wilcox, Sherman and the City of White Cloud.
Web Site

Everett Township’s Mission Statement:

It is the mission of Everett Township to serve its citizens and visitors with courtesy, integrity and compassion.  To provide quality services that will help to maintain and improve the overall manner in which our citizen’s live, work and play. Also to encourage ethical practices of elected officials who uphold the traditions and characteristics of township government.

We are building a new web site and will be up soon
The Zoning Ordnance is now on line 
Website Builder