Planning Commission

 Everett Township Planning Commission

The Everett Township Planning Commission is a five-member advisory board to the
  Everett Township Board.  Their primary responsibility is the planning of
Everett Township.  The Township Supervisor appoints individuals for membership
subject to Board  ratification. Terms of office are staggered so that three
terms of office come up for appointment or reappointment every July. Individuals
residing and registered to vote in Everett Township are eligible for appointment - land
ownership within the township is not a requirement. The Commission elects its own
Chair, Vice Chair and Secretary annually.

In order to effectively plan for the township, the Planning Commission is responsible
for drafting and adopting a Master Plan to guide planning in the township, primarily
with regard to development and preservation.  In following the Master Plan, the
Planning Commission is also responsible for maintaining the Everett Township Zoning
Ordinance by updating and enforcing it.  The Planning Commission, in order to enforce
the Zoning Ordinance, performs site plan reviews for all major developments in the
Township.  They are responsible for ensuring that all projects and developments in
the township meet the requirements set forth in the Zoning Ordinance and follow
the guidelines expressed in the Master Plan. 

Everett Township is a planned community. The Master plan was adopted by
the Everett Township Planning Commission and has been
 amended several times. documents change over time as the needs and
 desires of the community change.

Planning Commission Members :
Jim Maike  Chair  231-335-8272  email:
Curt Chaffee
Ralph Zimmerman
Sarah Cooley
Pam Chaffee
Website Builder